Me!

So, here we go. As you probably noticed, my name is Chris. I am married, getting on in the years, and live in Tarxien, with my wife Jacqueline, my daughters Rachel & Roxanne, as well as Nina the grumpy cat  and three two turtles. I have it from the best authorities that all the turtles are in fact, female.

So that makes me the only guy in the house. Not an easy thing to go by with! Sometimes I just feel like a spare wheel.

Some of my hobbies include reading, writing, playing guitar, and watching documentaries and movies. Swimming is also a great hobby of mine..and helps to keep me OUT of shape. However, one of my all-time love-affairs is with the bicycle, an incredibly efficient way of going from A to B, or simply having some fun… even to this day I can’t see a bike without going all misty-eyed. My health has however limited greatly the amount of activity I can do…

Schooling.

My early education started in England, where my late father was stationed while Malta was still under British rule. continuing on from there, the rest of primary education took place at St.Francis School in Cospicua. Due to the early education in the UK, I was lacking in a lot of basic Maltese know-how, thus having to repeat a year. As can be seen later, this year totally screwed up my educational progress.

I have to admit that I hated the school, run by nuns. My teacher was a particularly savage wart-faced woman who enjoyed nothing else than beating us with her metre rule. To this day, I can’t stand the sight of nuns, and have gone great lengths to make sure that my children will not go to a school run by nuns.

Secondary school was started at SPMC in 1977 in Rabat. True, it was another religion prominent school, run by priests, but honestly, I have only good memories from this school. Re-unions from this period in life are recurrent and well-attended by the majority of classmates. Perhaps the greatest drawback in this school (and not SPMC’s fault) was the fact that I had to take Arabic lessons due to a policy by the then Prime Minister of Malta, who made the language compulsory to enter University. Coming from England, with a whole British mindset, I failed dismally in this subject, and thus, University was denied to me…. I can honestly say that this school was an excellent experience for me, and one in which I am only sad I could not send my kids to…. oh well…

In 1982 I started attending the Technical Institute in Paola. Electronics was the subject I had chosen, and this, to date, is one of my passions. It seemed so easy and logical. This led to an interest in microcomputers, which I started programming immediately. It was a love story, and I can honestly say that the ten years (two courses!) spent at the Institute coincide with the happiest years of my life.  In 1984, while at the institute, I met a girl, later on to be my wife, with whom the years have sped by happily.

Employment.

In 1984 I started employment with then Telemalta, as a student. 1987 saw me obtain the Journeyman’s certificate, where I continued work in one of the company’s Drawing Office as a draughtsman. I enjoyed this work totally, while keeping tabs on computers and electronics repairs.

While with Telemalta, renamed Maltacom, I was transferred to the IT department, where I felt I could show my true potential… I left Maltacom against my deepest wished in 1996, after a promotion had been awarded, but not paid for.

1996 saw me start work with Digifix, a company I was already working part-time with. I enjoyed the work there, but in all honesty, was a bit stressed out. It was just me and another guy, and it was tough. 2001 saw me opening up my own shop, which I kept for three years. It was very very difficult for me to keep up with the increase of clients…until a guy from Carlo Gavazzi (for whom I fixed monitors) told me that they were hiring.

5th May 2003 saw me start out at Carlo Gavazzi Malta, where I still work, happily employed.

Bad Health.

Unfortunately during the latter ten years, I have had a myriad of health problems, culminating in two incurable conditions. It has been a long hard slog to recover from these two conditions, which to this day, dictate what I can or can not do. I am still learning my way around them, and thankfully, get a lot of help…

Advertisements